Local elections 2014

In May 2014 Waltham Forest TUSC stood 33 candidates across the borough for the local council. We were very proud to receive 5,482 votes. You can read a report of the campaign here

Our candidates were ordinary people – people who work in Waltham Forest and are having their wages and conditons attacked, people who live in the borough and are suffering from the rocketing rents, people with a history of campaigning in the community – we can be the politicians.

Cann Hall
Claire Laker-Mansfield – Socialist Party

Marijerla Ratnaseelan – Tamil Solidarity

Chapel End
Glenroy Watson – RMT

Chingford Green
Manny Thain – Tamil Solidarity

Sarah Sachs-Eldridge – Socialist Party

Russell Pennington – Whipps Cross hospital worker
Patrick Brown – Whipps Cross hospital worker
Craig Guiste – Whipps Cross hospital worker

Grove Green
Tim Roedel – firefighter, FBU branch secretary
Nicholas Fripp – cycling campaigner

Hale End & Highams Park
Danny Byrne – Socialist Party

Hatch Lane
Susan Wills – further education lecturer at Waltham Forest College, UCU branch secretary

Higham Hill
Louise Cuffaro – chair of the Tenants Federation
Mike Cleverley – Socialist Party

High Street
Nancy Taaffe – Socialist Party and sacked Waltham Forest library worker
Marvin Hay – local government worker in Hackney
(Senan) Thanabalasingam Uthayasenan – Tamil Solidarity

Hoe Street
Paul Bell – RMT

Dan Gillman – teacher
Joel Hirsch – Socialist Workers Party

Ian Pattison – Socialist Party

Lea Bridge
Martin Reynolds – Socialist Party

Kevin Parslow – Unite the Union branch secretary (personal capacity)
Suzanne Beishon – Socialist Party

Suzanne Muna – housing worker, Unite the Union branch secretary (personal capacity)
Len Hockey – Whipps Cross hospital worker (personal capacity)
Aiden Taylor – Whipps Cross hospital worker

Sarah Wrack – Socialist Party

William Morris
Mike McClinton – RMT
Paula Mitchell – Socialist Party
Ken Douglas – Socialist Party

Wood Street
Steve Poole – RMT
Lee Hawksbee – Socialist Party

Leave a Reply